Poppy lime fruit


This weekend was my grandfather’s birthday party, the first we’ve been able to attend in several years.  It’s a really great gathering of the family at my uncle’s house, with tons of food, loads of conversation, and pool time.  My aunt and uncle provide the meat and drinks, while the rest of us bring sides and desserts.

I kind of felt like my gustatory reputation with the family was at stake here.  It wasn’t the first time Southern Honey and I attended a family get-together as a married couple (that would have been Christmas), but it’s the first time we were really able to get a dish together for the two-hour drive.  I needed a knock-out.

This recipe absolutely delivered.  I brought a 4-qt bowl full of fruit, and it was completely empty when we left.  Everybody liked it, and I got tons of compliments.  My dad said I was turning into quite the little Suzie Homemaker, which kind of pissed me off (I like to think that I’m becoming quite myself, thanks), but I just smiled and thanked him and gave him the recipe.  I think the best part was watching my cousin’s 9-month-old scarfing down strawberry bits as fast as her mom could cut them up!

Poppy Lime Fruit, from With a Cherry on Top

Ingredients:
1 lime
4 Tbsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp poppy seeds
1/3 c vegetable oil
Fresh fruit (I used a pineapple, a pound of strawberries, a pint of blueberries and almost a pound of grapes)

Juice the lime; combine with the sugar, salt and poppy seeds.  Whisk until the sugar is completely dissolved.  Then whisk in the vegetable oil and pour over the fruit; toss to coat.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Fruit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

