I’m a baking fiend!


I was on a serious baking kick this week.  Well, okay, I was on a serious baking kick last night.  I’ve been too busy/lazy to do much other cooking or baking lately.  It’s been productive in terms of output, but I haven’t really used any new recipes since last week’s baba ghanoush.  (I swear, I must have babies on the brain; I just typed “baby ghanoush” — what a dish that would be!)

But in honor of the head office’s pancake breakfast that we won’t get to participate in (and why I pay them $15 a year for stuff I don’t get to take part in, I’m not sure; I’m getting out of that racket next year!) and the fact that one of our coworkers left for her home office today, I made breakfast to take in.

First, I modified my blueberry muffin recipe to make a half-dozen apple cinnamon muffins and a half-dozen chocolate chip muffins.  The apple cinnamon ones got good reviews — in place of the blueberries, I used half a Granny Smith apple, run through the food processor, and about 3/4 tsp cinnamon.  The chocolate chip were a little dry; I needed a bit more buttermilk in them.  I also remembered to pick up baking powder at the store, so I didn’t have to use my ghetto baking soda workaround.

Then I made a full batch of whole wheat pancakes, but with buttermilk instead of regular milk this time.  I also used 1 1/3 c of whole wheat flour and 2/3 c of regular all-purpose flour.  Overall, they came out a bit fluffier, and they cooked better.  I could have gone with just the half batch like I made before, but I wasn’t sure how many people would be eating breakfast and who would want what; now I’ve got 8 or 10 pancakes with my name on them in my fridge.

For dinner tonight, I had an idea: I would take some of my fresh veggies, some chicken, and my homemade taco seasoning and do grilled tacos/fajitas for myself.  So I took a chicken breast, seasoned it with salt and pepper, and then sprinkled on and rubbed in a few pinches of taco seasoning.  I popped it on the grill.

With the veggies, I used squash, zucchini and red and green bell peppers.  I cut the squash and zucchini in half (they were small), and cut out about 1/3 each of th e bell peppers.  I drizzled them with olive oil on the meaty sides and sprinkled them with pepper and taco seasoning.  About the time I turned the chicken over, I put the veggies on the other side of the grill, skin-down for the peppers and flesh-down for the squash and zucchini.  Let them grill until the chicken is fully cooked.

I took everything inside, sliced up the veggies and chicken, and piled it all on tortillas with some salsa.  I think it needed some sour cream and/or guacamole, but it was really good.  I’m going to fiddle with my taco seasoning mix, I think; it doesn’t have quite as much kick as I would like.

So, while it’s not anything new, it all tasted good and went over well, and now I’m lounging on my couch, stuffed to the gills and completely content.  I’d say that makes it a good week, culinarily.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Mexican, Poultry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

