Hummus!


I have a love-love relationship with Mediterranean and Middle Eastern food.  I love it, generally speaking (I’m not too keen on fish balls, but that’s just because I’m not big on fish at all), and it treats me well in return.

After my friend’s bachelorette party and the baba ghanoush, I found myself craving hummus.  I’m lazy, so I thought about just buying some (one of our temp workers left a thing of chipotle hummus in the fridge last week, and it’s … interesting but it left me wanting something a bit less … interesting).  Sadly, I had a hard time finding any that wasn’t going to cost me an arm and a leg — really, it’s like $3 or $4 for a small container of Sabra hummus!

A can of chickpeas?  That costs less than a buck.  And everything else (still sans tahini) I already had.  I did finally track down some tahini at Kroger, but I was not about to shell out $9 for a jar.  Sorry.  Not even for my hummus-fix.

For a first try, and for a lack of tahini, I think this turned out pretty well.  I can’t wait to take it to work tomorrow so I have something yummy to snack on.

Mmmm, creamy, chickpea goodness!

Not too bad for a first try

Hummus (a collaboration from a bunch of recipes and recommendations on recipes)

Ingredients:

1 15 oz can chickpeas, drained (reserve some of the liquid to help smooth out the hummus)
Approx 1 Tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp ground cumin
Approx 1 Tbsp olive oil
Salt
Other seasonings, as you like: ground red pepper, paprika

Combine all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until mostly smooth.  Season with additional salt, red pepper, paprika, etc, to your heart’s content.  Serve with yummy black olives, cucumber slices, tomato wedges, and pita slices (or, if cucumbers have suddenly become anathema and you don’t have any olives, tomatoes or pitas, multigrain wheat thins).

Traditionally, hummus is spread about 3/4 of an inch thick on a serving plate, drizzled with olive oil, and sprinkled with paprika.  You’d also include between 1/4 and 1/2 c of tahini, a sesame seed paste, in the original list of ingredients.  My paprika is AWOL, so I sprinkled on some more cumin and red pepper instead, and the price of tahini down here is prohibitively expensive, so I left it out altogether.  Not the best result, but much better than the chipotle stuff.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Snacks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hummus!

  1. If you have toasted sesame oil on hand, I’ve been told you can add in some of that to get the sesame taste without having to buy tahini. I caved and bought tahini, personally, so I haven’t tried the sesame oil trick.

    • Gah, I had that sitting on the counter with the olive oil and it never even occurred to me! I just might have to take it to work with me tomorrow to mix a bit in and try it. Thanks!

      I found some cheaper tahini today, but it’s still pricey enough to be somewhat prohibitive.

Leave a Reply

