Dairy-free chocolate “mousse”


I love the holidays because they give me a chance to experiment with new recipes.  I’ve had more opportunity than normal this year since Southern Honey and I had Turkey Day dinner with just the two of us last Thursday and then having dinner with my mom and her side of the family on Sunday.

This year’s challenge was finding food that my brother’s girlfriend could eat.  She’s got her fair share of food allergies: wheat, dairy, and nuts.  When I volunteered last weekend to make a dessert that she could eat, I honestly didn’t realize just how limiting that would be for someone not familiar with the world of wheat/flour substitutes.  When I was forced to put off planning and shopping for dessert until Saturday by our dad’s mom’s death last week, I limited my options even further.

So, come Saturday, I found myself wandering around WalMart looking desperately for ingredients that would fit the bill.  Oh, and talking to myself.  Can’t forget that part.  *rolls eyes*  Just another crazy lady in WallyWorld…

Gah, some days I really miss being in the big city where if WalMart didn’t carry it, I could hit up any one of four or five other regular grocery stores and a couple of specialty or international grocery stores.  Spelt flour, among other things, is not a product the local WalMart is terribly familiar with.

Anyway, eventually I settled on giving a go with some chocolate “mousse” (after I had an epiphany about not having to use cow’s milk for pudding, although when I got home, I realized the package specifically says not to use soy milk because it won’t set — worked well enough for my purposes).  It definitely needs some tweaking, but it wasn’t bad, and his girlfriend is already planning on giving it a try of her own, so I’m taking that as a pretty good success.

Dairy-Free Chocolate “Mousse”* (a Southern Sugar original)

Ingredients

2 family-size packages Jello cook and serve chocolate pudding
4 cups soy milk
Dash of cinnamon
1 7-oz jar marshmallow fluff

In a medium pot, combine pudding mix, soy milk, and cinnamon.  Heat slowly, stirring constantly (the package directions call for bringing the milk and mix to a boil to thicken, but you don’t want it to get too thick and you’ve already cut down on the amount of liquid).

Empty marshmallow fluff into medium serving bowl.

When the pudding mix and cinnamon have been thoroughly incorporated into the milk and the mixture starts to thicken, remove from heat and pour over marshmallow fluff.  Whisk until completely combined and nicely fluffy.

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and pop into the freezer for at least a couple of hours and preferably overnight.  Remove from freezer a couple of hours before serving and move to the fridge to thaw.

*I used too much cinnamon this time around.  I would say about a half-teaspoon is more than enough.  It also got a little runny after it had been out on the counter top for a while, so I’m going to have to see if cooking the pudding mixture longer over lower heat will help next time.  I’m not sure how to curb the sweetness factor, though.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

