Mango Avocado Salsa


I know, I know, I’ve neglected the blog shamefully over the past year — I haven’t posted in months.  When I got pregnant, I went for a long period where food absolutely did not interest me, and then I was too exhausted to track down and try new recipes.  It only got worse once the Munchkin was born, as I was home by myself and hardly had time to boil an egg, much less try anything more complicated than “Open cereal box, pour into bowl, add milk.”  😛

Fortunately, the Munchkin is really starting to settle into a more normal pattern of life, and I occasionally have the time and energy to try my hand at something fun.

This weekend it was a celebration of the local farmer’s market.  I managed to find almost all the ingredients in this salsa, short the mango, avocado, and cilantro, there, and it was great to be able to buy fresh and local.  My tomatoes smelled like tomatoes for once, which was heavenly.

I also found a fantastic local winery that makes one of the best strawberry wines I’ve had lately.  It’s a bit more than I often spend on wine at $16 a bottle (I’m cheap, I know), but it’s worth every penny.  If only their cherry wine didn’t ring up around $30 a bottle…

The salsa itself is quite tasty, although I think I’ll cut down the amount of garlic I use next time.  And I may substitute a peach or some pineapple for the avocado; I like guacamole well enough, but I’m not so sure about it added that much to this salsa.

Booze and snacks!

The results of a morning at the farmer's market!

Mango Avocado Salsa (taken from FHIVESHOT over on All Recipes)

Ingredients

1 mango, peeled, seeded, and diced
1 avocado, peeled, pitted, and diced
4 medium tomatoes, diced
1 jalepeno, seeded and minced
1/2 c chopped fresh cilantro
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp salt
2 Tbsp fresh lime juice
3 Tbsp olive oil

Combine all the ingredients in a medium-size bowl.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before serving so the flavors have time to blend.

All Recipes indicates this serves six.  I’d probably be more inclined to serve this as an appetizer for more along the lines of ten people; since I’m the only one eating it, I’m going to be snacking on it from here until Christmas (or that’s how it feels, at least).

I had it last night on chicken fajitas with lots of freshly grilled peppers, onion, squash and zucchini, and again this afternoon with chips.  The flavor is great, although a bit heavy on the garlic; the mango gives it a nice, lightly sweet touch.  Next time I’ll go with 2 cloves rather than 3.  I also used my food processor too much; I prefer my salsa chunkier than it turned out.  Not that that really affects the flavor that much — I’m just being picky.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Mexican and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mango Avocado Salsa

  1. Mary says:

    Food processors and things like mango or avocado don’t really mix all that well. They get overprocessed and liquified way faster than you think they will. They’re even worse than tomatoes about that.

    • I definitely found that out the hard way with the tomatoes and mango. At least I had the sense not to put my avocado in there, too, but I kinda figured I’d end up with guacamole instead of salsa that way… 😀

Leave a Reply

