Almond Joy granola bars


I don’t know what happened to me recently, but I became completely obsessed with Almond Joy bars.  Which is extremely strange given that I don’t really even like almonds all that much — I’d usually rather have a Mounds, since it’s dark chocolate and no almonds.  Regardless of that minor detail, my stomach has just been demanding the darned things.

In an attempt to mollify said stomach without rapidly expanding my waistline, I decided to compromise and make a batch of Almond Joy granola bars.  They wouldn’t stick together all that well and they were mistaken for brownies a couple of times, but oh my goodness, they were so worth it!  Sweet, a little salty, with a chocolatey, tropical flavor… I was far more tempted to eat these for dessert than for anything else, and I absolutely can’t wait to make them again.

Almond Joy Granola Bars

Ingredients

  • 2 cups oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (you can use whole wheat flour to give make it seem healthier; doesn’t negatively impact the flavor)
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup milled flax seed
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2/3 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Line a 9″x13″ pan with waxed paper and preheat the oven to 350*.  Combine all the dry ingredients in one bowl and mix thoroughly.  In a separate bowl, combine the oil, honey, egg, and vanilla; beat to combine.  Then pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix — you’ll have to do it by hand to get everything incorporated.  Spread mixture into the pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, until the edges are golden-brown.
About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

