Game Night Fare


We had a bunch of friends over for Game Night for the first time since the Munchkin was born last night, so I spent yesterday cooking like crazy, mostly totally new recipes.  I like to use my friends as guinea pigs.  Mwahahaha!

When all was said and done last night, we chowed down on what I’m calling soy-ginger pork (I got to break out my microplaner for the first time on the freshly-grated ginger, woohoo!); oven-roasted butternut squash, half with butter/salt/pepper and half with butter/brown sugar/cinnamon; roasted new potatoes with olive oil, pepper, salt, and parsley; and green beans.

Oh, and we had a veritable buffet of desserts to boot: Southern Honey and I made brownies (plain and toffee bit), one of our friends made Paula Deen’s eclair cake, and one brought yummy no-bake cookies.  I swear, I can’t believe no one went home in a diabetic coma; it totally would have been worth it!

Sorry for the lack of pictures, but my camera’s batteries are quite dead, so you’ll have to take my word for it that, with my new serving bowls, it looked almost as good as it tasted.

Soy-Ginger Pork (a Southern Sugar original)

Ingredients (all quantities approximate):
* Boneless pork loin, 4 lb
* 4 cloves garlic
* 1/2 yellow onion, cut in chunks
* 1/8 c soy sauce
* 1/8 c honey
* 1/8 c sweet chili sauce
* 2 tsp freshly grated ginger

Place the pork loin in the crock pot; mine was still frozen, so the cooking time reflects that.  Top with the onions and garlic; drizzle with the soy sauce, honey, and sweet chili sauce; then sprinkle with ginger.  Cook on high for two hours.  Baste with the juices and turn the heat down to low.  Cook for five more hours, basting occasionally.

I think this would be great with jasmine rice, sesame green beans, and stir-fried veggies, but I got no complaints last night.  😀  In fact, I got a request for the pork recipe and a demand to make the squash for Thanksgiving.  And we had minimal leftovers — just some of the pork and some of the savory squash.  All told, I think it was a success.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Pork and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

