French Toast Casserole


Every now and then, I hit a recipe that just doesn’t work for me.  Sometimes I know it’s operator error; other times I’m not sure if it’s me or if the recipe is off somewhere.  This recipe was the latter.

I tried this French toast casserole a few months back for the shop when we were having a big event and were going to be there all day.  It was a total flop.  I mean, an undercooked, runny, goopy flop.  Ugh.  I followed the recipe as I found it and even extended the baking time a little.  Maybe it was my oven — the thing was in the process of going out — or maybe I screwed something up somewhere along the line.  I’m not sure, and I’m hesitant to fix it again without a backup on-hand.  😛

French Toast Casserole (From STARFLOWER at AllRecipes)

  • 5 cups bread cubes
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup white sugar, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon margarine, softened
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350* and butter an 8″x8″ baking pan.  Line the pan with bread cubes.

In a large bowl, beat eggs, milk, 2 tablespoons of sugar, the salt, and the vanilla.  Pour the mixture over the bread and dot with butter.  Let the pan stand for 10 minutes.

Combine the remaining sugar with the cinnamon and sprinkle over the top.  Bake about 45-50 minutes, until the top is golden.

By the way, check out my new fan page on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Smidge-of-Sweetness-from-the-South/164798833615777

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to French Toast Casserole

  1. I have an amazing french toast casserole dish I plan to post about soon. Using Challah is is a key contributing factor, and my recipe uses maple syrup instead of sugar in the mixture. Give another casserole a try–they really can rock.

    • I’ll be looking out for it. I need to find a source for Challah out here; I’m not sure that any of the local stores carry it (there really are some culinary drawbacks to living in a smaller town). I’ve seen recommendations for using Challah in French toast casserole a couple of times, so I’m going to have to give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

