Turkey Day Planning


Well, we’re back in the hot seat again this year, in a good way: hosting Thanksgiving for our local friends.  Last year was very laid-back, with just me, Southern Honey, and a brace of Cornish hens.  This year, on the other hand, we’re going back to the whole turkey,  ham, tons of sides, and possibly enough desserts to sink a battleship.  It’s going to be splendid.

My favorite part?  I’m not responsible for cooking it all.  Don’t get me wrong; I love cooking (obviously!), but swinging a whole T-Day is tricky logistically.  One of our friends is splitting cooking duties with me, so that neither of us is doing all the heavy lifting, and there’s no telling what everyone else will end up bringing.

Courtesy of my recent “ick, dairy!” discovery, I’m skipping the broccoli casserole this year.  That leaves me in need of a veggie side to substitute.  We’re already having corn, green beans, and butternut squash (plus mashed potatoes, but those are really a starch — so’s the corn, I know… details, details), so I’m open to suggestions.

And if anyone knows of a good cranberry sauce recipe, I’m willing to give it a go if I have the time.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Holidays, Menu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turkey Day Planning

  1. nancy says:

    gingered orange carrots ( I think is the name of the recipe I’m thinking of) very good, rutabagas, or turnips if you’re into those ( I like no one else likes too much), baked asparagus parmesan (easy and quick), Go totally summerish with fried green tomatoes. Been thinking on these a lot lately. I’ve got some canned so I might just go ahead and fry some up.

    • Oooh, gingered orange carrots sounds tasty! I just don’t want to go to sweet because I’m doing the squash with brown sugar and cinnamon (with a little set aside to make with salt and pepper). thanks for the ideas — I’ve got some time to think on it, but that’s really helping me get started.

Leave a Reply

