How I Survive Big Meals


I may be the most disorganized person I know.  It’s pathetic how hard it is for me to remember to grab my lunch on the way out the door, much less put together a major meal for more than me and Southern Honey.  (Actually, even to put one together for just the two of us is embarrassingly difficult to coordinate sometimes since half the time I forget what I’m planning to make if I don’t write it down in about four places.)

The only way I get through is to be very, very thorough with the lists and the planning.  I have a series of lists.

  • A master list of what dishes I plan to make
  • A list of ingredients I need for each dish
  • A shopping list of which ingredients I need to buy to make each dish
  • A list of how long each dish will take to prepare and where it’s cooking: oven, stove top, or crock pot.

Then I plan out when I’ll be starting each dish.  Which ones can be made the night before?  Which ones can have most of the prep work done early?  Which ones am I insanely planning to guinea pig at a big event because I’m too lazy to do a trial run on my veggie-averse husband and am therefore going to angst over for at least ten minutes during the cooking process?  Which ones am I going to be scrambling around at the last minute trying to finish because I’ve forgotten something despite having six lists and fifty post-its?

Okay, so I don’t actually factor in those last two, but I really should.  It seems as though I test drive at least one new recipe at every big event and that I forget at least one important thing somewhere along the line.  But I generally manage to muddle through, and I haven’t killed anyone yet, so I just keep working at it.  We’ll see how it goes with this year’s Thanksgiving.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Learning to Cook and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

