Beautifully Colorful Cranberry Sauce


In the beginning, there were cranberries in orange juice...

Just getting started...

Cranberry sauce is one of those traditional Thanksgiving dishes that most people I know don’t actually eat.  In fact, I don’t think we ever even had it at a holiday gathering when I was growing up.  So when we were dividing up dishes to make for Wednesday, I let my friend have it, with the plan for her to buy a can of the jellied stuff.

Then I found an easy recipe for cranberry sauce over on AllRecipes and I had temporary dreams of changing everyone’s mind on cranberry sauce.  Except that I couldn’t find cranberries anywhere.  Then I found cranberries on sale at Aldi for $.99, so I figured that even if no one eats it, I’m only out $1 and a little bit of time.

Then came the boiling and the popping...

Here they are, all starting to split and mush up.

I think the hardest part of this recipe was squeezing the oranges to get a cup of orange juice (because I don’t have an orange juicer, which really needs to go on my Christmas list, now that I think about it).  The rest was just a matter of patience and stirring.  I still have no idea if anyone will eat it, but at least I didn’t slave over it for hours or anything.  And it’s absolutely gorgeous in the bowl!

You do need to keep an eye out for colorful splashes; the cranberries pop as they cook, and the juice goes flying.  My stove resembled an expanse of polka-dotted fabric by the time all was said and done.

And the cook tasted it and it was good!

Cranberry-orangey goodness in a bowl.

Cranberry Sauce (from Toni at AllRecipes)

Ingredients

  • 1 c orange juice
  • 1 c sugar
  • 12 oz cranberries

n a medium sauce pan over medium heat, dissolve the sugar into the orange juice.  Then stir in the cranberries and cook, stirring frequently, for approximately ten minutes.  Pour into a serving dish, and let the sauce cool and thicken before serving.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beautifully Colorful Cranberry Sauce

  1. Kim says:

    I found a recipe for cranberry chutney a few years ago that I love and will be making it for Christmas dinner. 🙂

Leave a Reply

