No Pies Here: Pumpkin Angel Food Cake


I like pumpkin pie as much as the next person, but I don’t really enjoy baking pies all that much.  I’m not sure why, although I think it has to do with pies not being my usual dessert of choice; I much prefer cakes, cookies, brownies, cupcakes, and ice cream to pie most of the time.  That made this cake perfect, in my opinion: I got my pumpkin fix, but I didn’t have to deal with pie shells or canned pie filling.  Yay!

I actually found two recipes for pumpkin angel food cake, one of which had you making the cake from scratch.  Being totally pressed for time, I opted for this version, which uses an angel food cake mix as the base.    And, given that it was one of about five desserts at our Wednesday turkey day dinner but people still ate just over a quarter of it, while the bulk of the rest got finished off at my mom’s on Saturday, I don’t think anyone else minded.

*drooooooools*
It doesn’t look like much from this angle, but OHMAHGAH!

Pumpkin Angel Food Cake with Salted Caramel Glaze (from grinandbakeit)

Ingredients

  • 1 box angel food cake mix
  • 1 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 3/4 c canned pumpkin
  • 1 c cold water

Move your oven rack to the lowest position and preheat the oven to 350*.  In a large mixing bowl, combine the cake ingredients and beat on a low setting for 30 seconds.  Then turn the speed up to medium and beat for another 2 minutes to aerate it nicely.  This is part of what gives angel food cake its fluffy texture.  (And is one of the reasons I love my stand mixer because it does all the work.  Besides, you get an arm workout making the caramel glaze.)  Pour the cake batter into an angel food cake pan (the original recipe called for an ungreased pan, but since I was using my great-grandmother’s on pain of death if it got damaged I followed my mom’s instructions and used a spray) and pop it in the oven.

Bake for 37 to 47 minutes, until the surface is golden-brown.  My grandmother’s pan is two pieces, so I didn’t bother with turning the pan upside down to cool, and instead let it sit for a couple of hours.  I still had to loosen the sides a bit with a knife, but it then slid quite nicely up and out of the pan and onto a carrying tray.

Then it was time for the salted caramel sauce.  This was good, but I wish I had noticed that I needed dark brown sugar earlier; all I had was light brown sugar, so it didn’t darken up the way I wanted it to.  Still tasted darned good, though.

Salted caramel sauce

Ingredients

  • 1/4 c butter
  • 1/4 c brown sugar (should be dark)
  • 1/4 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c whipping cream
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Melt the butter in a small, heavy saucepan over medium-low heat.  Then stir in the brown and granulated sugar.  Bring to a boil, stirring constantly.  Add your whipping cream and bring the mixture back to a boil, still stirring constantly.  Boil and stir for two minutes.  (I told you you’d get your arm workout in.)  Then remove the glaze from the heat and add 1/4 to 3/4 tsp sea salt and cinnamon.  Allow the glaze to cool completely and pour it over your cake.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Pies Here: Pumpkin Angel Food Cake

Leave a Reply

