Roasted Garlic Broccoli and Cauliflower


I love vegetables.  Vegetarian (rarely vegan — I like eggs and other non-vegan-friendly ingredients too much) and veggie-focused dishes feature heavily in my diet, so I’m always on the lookout for a good veggie side or main dish.  I mean, my main use for my taco seasoning lately has been veggie fajitas.  And not just because I’m too lazy to lay out the chicken or anything to thaw.  Really.

So when I decided that broccoli casserole was out for Thanksgiving — too much cheese for my lactose intolerant self, even with a healthy helping of Lactaid — I needed to find a new veggie side.  I was looking to move beyond the normal sides, and I knew no one else would eat Brussels sprouts (sadly), so I went to cauliflower.  That led me to this recipe, which I really enjoyed.  Sadly, though, due to the Great Exploding Pyrex Debacle of 2011, I didn’t get any photos, as we were trying to get things cleaned up without dusting the turkey with ground glass.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower and Broccoli (from SHELLERY at allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2/3 large head of cauliflower, separated into florets
  • 1/3 large head of broccoli, separated into florets
  • 1/3 c grated Parmesan cheese
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley

Preheat the oven to 450* and grease a large casserole dish.

Place the olive oil and garlic in a large, resealable container (I used a good-sized storage container), add the cauliflower and broccoli, and shake to mix.  Pour it all into the casserole dish and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Bake for 25 minutes, stirring halfway through to make sure nothing burns.  Then top with the Parmesan cheese and parsley, and broil until golden-brown.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Holidays, Vegetable Sides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roasted Garlic Broccoli and Cauliflower

  1. nancy says:

    that just means you get to make it again so you can get some pics!

  2. nancy says:

    Oh,BTW I’ll eat brussell sprouts with you any day. I love them, especially roasted with balsamic vinegar. YUMMY!!

    • Yay, someone to eat Brussels sprouts with!! I have a recipe that involves Brussels sprouts and bacon that I’m dying to try at some point. I keep waiting in no small part for the darned things to go on sale, but I don’t see that happening any time soon.

Leave a Reply

