Comfort Food: Bean Soup


I’ve been off the food blogging circuit almost completely since the Munchkin was born in April, and I’ve also been almost completely disconnected from the community of bloggers I used to post with regularly until I was home sick from work and looking to get myself back in the groove.  Unfortunately, as I was reading through back posts, I realized that one of the posters, one whose posts have been insightful and whose recipes are delicious, Annie of Annie’s Eats, lost her father on Thanksgiving this year.

Beans, beans...

 

One good thing about all the bloggers who post is the sense of community.  Everyone rallied to offer comfort as best they could, by posting comfort food recipes for Annie.  I’m incredibly late getting to it, but I wanted to do my part.

The magical fruit...

 

For me, my mom’s bean soup is comfort.  It’s a hot meal at the dinner table with loved ones, customized with onions or hot sauce or whatever everyone prefers.  It’s not highbrow or fancy; in fact, it’s a meal that gets turned to frequently when you’re at the end of your budget for the month and don’t have much beyond a hambone and a bag of beans left in the cabinet.  But it tastes good and it brings me home at the end of a long day.

The more you eat, the more you toot!

Brown Bean Soup with Ham

Ingredients

  • 1 pound pinto beans, soaked
  • Ham bone or 1/2 lb baked ham, roughly chopped (I was short on the ham, so I added some bacon bits, too)
  • 2 c chicken stock (I had turkey stock going on the stove, so I used it instead)
  • Water to cover the beans in the crock pot

I soaked the beans all afternoon in a bowl to rehydrate them.  Then I tossed them in my medium crock pot.  I chopped up my leftover ham and added it, along with some bacon bits, to the beans.  Then I topped it off with the liquids, turkey stock and water.  I turned the crock pot on low and left it to cook overnight.  They went into the fridge this morning and came back out for reheating tonight.

The beans soaked up all the liquid during the day today, so I ended up adding more stock and water, to bring the total amount of liquid up to the amount above.  They still needed a little something to meet my mom’s standard, but I think it was mostly because I didn’t have a hambone and had to make do with Thanksgiving leftovers (and didn’t have enough of those to start with).  Despite that, YUM!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

