Chipotle Lime Salsa


I know that it’s December, and that Christmas is nearly upon us, but I love Mexican food at pretty much any time of the year.  In fact, when I found a restaurant-style recipe earlier in the year that got great reviews, I knew I had my new go-to appetizer for events when I don’t have a lot of time.  Then I found a chipotle salsa recipe that needed some work, and I found myself a bit torn, so I decided, why not combine the two recipes and see what happens?

EDIT: What happens is that I had to go back today and adjust the recipe.  It was too overwhelmingly chipotle-y and onion/garlicky, so I added a second can of tomatoes, a bit more cilantro, and more lime juice.  Now it’s YUM!

Omnomsalsa!

The office Christmas party, also known as the “ugly Christmas sweater party” this year, is perfect for this sort of thing.  Everybody gets together, has tons of food (mostly desserts), drinks loads of booze, and talks about all the things we don’t usually have time to talk about in the office.  It’s a great time!

This year I’m dying to see all the ugly sweaters/shirts.  Southern Honey and I have turtlenecks since I couldn’t get to Goodwill to see if they had any, and WalMart’s not-meant-to-be-ironic ugly Christmas sweaters were ridiculously expensive.  And I take evil pleasure in knowing that his is uglier than mine.  >:-D  But in my defense, I could only get one style in my size; it’s not my fault that wasn’t the ugliest one!  *laughs*

The lineup

Chipotle Lime Salsa (inspired by this recipe from Jill Beesley)

Ingredients

1 14.5 oz can fire-roasted diced tomatoes (it’s just not the time of year for fresh tomatoes)
1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
1/2 onion
1 clove garlic
1/3 c diced fresh cilantro
1/2 chipotle pepper
Approx 1 Tbsp adobo sauce (from the chipotles; can vary this amount to adjust desired spiciness — I like it hot)
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cumin
Juice of 1 1/2 limes

Cut the half-onion into quarters and toss in the food processor with the garlic and cilantro; pulse to smoothly and finely dice.  Add the tomatoes, chipotle, adobo, vinegar, salt, cumin, and lime juice; pulse again to finely dice and combine thoroughly.

Put the salsa in the fridge and let the flavors blend for at least thirty minutes (I prefer to let it sit overnight to really let everything meld).  Serve with your favorite tortilla chips and enjoy!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Mexican and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

