Chicken Schwarma


One of the things I miss the most about living in DC is the huge variety of ethnic foods you can find there.  We have Mexican restaurants in abundance, a handful of (mostly lousy) Chinese places, a tasty Italian spot, a little Greek restaurant, and a Bosnian place I still need to try.  It’s not bad variety for a small town, but I really find myself missing the choices.  Especially Middle Eastern food.

With some wine!

As a result, I was beyond thrilled when this recipe came across my screen last week.  And even more thrilled when I realized that I had most of the ingredients already because I’m cheap like that.

Cuke and tomato salad

This sounds fairly complicated, what with all the components, but it’s really not.  You throw the marinade and yogurt sauce together one night, and you do your veggies the next before you throw the chicken on (or while it’s on the grill if you’re not pan-searing it).  Plus the end result is worth the effort.

Ready for my closeup!

Chicken schwarma (From Budget Bytes by way of Gourmet Day to Day)

Ingredients

Marinade:
1.25 lbs chicken breasts
1/2 c plain yogurt
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves

Yogurt sauce:
7 oz plain yogurt
1/4 tsp minced garlic
1/4 tsp dried dill
1/4 tsp salt

Cucumber and tomato salad:
1/2 cucumber, sliced thin
1 Roma tomato
1 small clove garlic, minced
1/2 Tbsp olive oil
Juice of 1/2 lemon (used the rest from my tablespoon of lemon juice for the marinade)
Salt and pepper to taste

Lettuce
Pitas (or, in this case, tortillas because I didn’t make it to the pita store)

Marinade directions:

Slice the chicken.  Combine all the marinade ingredients, from the yogurt to the cloves, and mix well.  Coat the chicken with the marinade, cover, and refrigerate between 4 and 24 hours.

Mix up the yogurt sauce ingredients and refrigerate to let the flavors blend.

Slice up your cucumbers and tomatoes (you can add sliced red onions to this if you like).  Mix up the garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper, and coat the tomatoes and cukes.  Toss your chicken on the grill or into a hot pan to sear and prep your flatbread with lettuce.  When your chicken is cooked, add it to the flatbread.  Don’t forget your cukes and tomatoes, and then top with the yogurt sauce.  Then enjoy!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Middle Eastern, Poultry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chicken Schwarma

  1. Audi Palomar says:

    This is fancy compared to the shawarma I usually have – turkish beef, onions,cucumber, tomato and cheese, covered in garlic sauce, rolled up with pita bread. But this looks really great!

    • That sounds every bit as delicious! I’ve previously mostly been a (Lebanese) beef shawarma girl myself, so this was new for me. I’m always on the lookout for different ways to fix the same dish — how would I make Turkish beef to make it your way?

      • Audi Palomar says:

        I just buy mine at a shawarma stand. I see them shave it from stacks of meat, either beef or lamb on a rotating grill. Perhaps you can try seasoning it with spices you like and just grill it. 🙂

      • *drools* Oh.my.gosh, I would just about kill for a shawarma stand!! 😀 Grilling is definitely on the list for the next time I try this.

  2. nancy says:

    looks good how would it be with strips of steak?

  3. jessy says:

    YUMMY! We were just talking about making this again because we enjoyed it so much! Yours looks great and I’m glad you liked it too!

Leave a Reply

