Pasta with Cream Sauce


All done!

I’ve been trying lately to stick with recipes and dishes that I already have the ingredients for at home.  Not to mention dishes that don’t take long to make since I rarely get started before 8 or 8:30 at night for dinner.  So when I came across a simple cream sauce recipe today, I got excited.  After all, I had angel hair pasta, I had heavy cream (for the first time), and I had Parmesan cheese.  I could do it!

Reducing

This was an easy one, based on a recipe I found over on Cooks.com.  All I did was add some frozen peas and diced Roma tomatoes to the mix for some color and added flavor.

Mixing

Angel Hair with Cream Sauce

Ingredients

1 Tbsp butter
1/3 c heavy cream
1 small clove garlic, minced
Salt and pepper to taste
1/8 c Parmesan cheese

Heat a heavy-bottom pan and melt the butter.  Add the garlic and cook for about thirty seconds to release the flavor, then add the cream.  Stir and bring to a simmer, then reduce heat and reduce in volume by about 10%  Season salt and pepper to taste.  Add the peas and tomatoes so they can heat through.

In the meantime, bring the water to a boil for the angel hair and cook for approximately five minutes.  Drain.

Increase the heat under the cream sauce until it starts to bubble around the edges of the pan and add the Parmesan cheese.  Stir until it melts, then add the pasta and toss to coat thoroughly.  Dish up, top with extra cheese if you want, and serve.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pasta with Cream Sauce

  1. nancy says:

    Add a nice glass of wine and you’re in there. I made chicken in a mushroom sauce in the crock pot as well as my green beans which I also threw in a crock pot. Tossed together a salad and some instant rice….dinner is served.

Leave a Reply

