My Nemesis, Caffeine


I remember a time when my favorite drink, after milk because I’m a dork like that, was Mt. Dew.  I thought that stuff was the nectar of the gods or something!  Then I moved to a college campus that served Coke products instead of Pepsi and I had to move on, find a new love.

That love?  Dr. Pepper.  Apparently, I am incapable of liking drinks that aren’t abbreviated.  Regardless, it got me through cramming for biology finals and staying awake in boring classes, not to mention serving as a rum delivery vehicle at parties.

But then I graduated from college and I moved to the big city.  In an effort to be healthier, I cut out sodas.  My caffeine came only from my morning cup of tea, since I’m not a coffee fan, and the rest of the time I primarily drank water and milk.  Fortunately, I didn’t have many demands on my brain that couldn’t be solved by a good night’s sleep, and nothing stood between me and sleep but the occasional bass-thumping neighbor.  Life was good.

Then I got pregnant, and I decided to switch my morning cup of tea to decaf.  I’m short, Southern Honey is short, so why risk stunting the Munchkin’s growth more than the genetic lottery already makes likely?  It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Then I had the Munchkin, couldn’t breastfeed him for long, and went back to work on short sleep.  Being functional mentally became a must, but how was I to achieve it?  Caffeine, my old friend, seemed the only answer.

Until that first cup of full-bodied tea had me up and jittering all night long.  My body had adjusted to life without my friend, and we could no longer inhabit the same space.  So I reluctantly went back to my decaf tea, shoving the box of caffeinated stuff deep into the recesses of my desk drawer.

Except that Monday I decided I needed a little pick-me-up after a long weekend without much sleep (cranky baby), so I broke out the real thing.  Caffeine, my buddy, come hang out!

Yeah, caffeine and I, we’re not buddies anymore.  It’s my nemesis.  My jittery, brain-exploding nemesis.  But, dangit, caffeine, I just want to love you.  Why do you hate me so?  I didn’t abandon you needlessly; I didn’t throw you aside because I wanted to!  Forgive me?

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Nemesis, Caffeine

  1. I have the same problem, I used to drink a lot of tea, but now I cannot have any caffeine after noon. If I do I cannot sleep and the wife gets grumpy! But I love tea and coffee!

    I feel your pain! I turned to mint tea as it helps me sleep, or red bush! Great! Good luck with your caffeine adventures.

    • I haven’t tried mint tea yet (aside from Moroccan mint tea, which I’m fairly sure would now leave me awake and jabbering for days :D), but I may have to. Especially if I can find it cheaper than my decaf Irish breakfast. But oh, how I love my Irish breakfast tea…

Leave a Reply

