Friendsmas Cooking


One of my favorite parts of the year is getting together for friends to celebrate Christmas, or Friendsmas as I like to call it.  It’s a great time to hang out, swap gifts, play games, and share good food.  It’s a less great time to have to come up with something else new (or at least delicious) to fix in the midst of the holiday insanity.

This year it looks like we’re going to be Friendsmasing on Christmas Eve, down at the shop.  I’ve already picked up plates and napkins, and we have cups left over from Friendsgiving, so that much at least is taken care of.  What food I’m going to take is still up for debate.

I’m thinking Spicy Sausage Dip (I found it on Annie’s Eats last year for our office Christmas party) with bread chips, maybe turn our pork butt into pulled pork mini sandwiches, and possibly balsamic honey-glazed oven-roasted carrots.  I’ll let Southern Honey handle desserts — I’m betting he’ll want brownies, and I think I’ll sneak some toffee bits or Nutella  into the batter.  I love Nutella…  Those recipes won’t require me to pick up too many extra ingredients above and beyond what we already have at the house, which is what I’ve been aiming for in recipes lately.  Plus they can go in crockpots, which is an added bonus.

God bless us, every crockpot!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Holidays, Pork, Vegetable Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

