Holiday French Toast


A couple of weekends ago, Southern Honey and I had the opportunity to indulge in a lazy Sunday morning breakfast.  It can be hard for us to agree on what to make because we don’t like the same things (and because I usually forget to buy bacon or sausage to have around the house), so being reminded that he loves French toast was a boon.

Mmmm, sugar!

The benefit of having bought some new ingredients to cook with for Thanksgiving and having leftovers of them meant that I had some fun new ingredients to play around with for everyday occasions.  I like my French toast normally with milk, eggs, and cinnamon, simple enough.  But this time around, I not only had cherry topping and powdered sugar to have instead of syrup, I had heavy cream and ground nutmeg.  When I was finished, it smelled like the holidays all over the house, and the French toast tasted delicious.  I think I’ve found what I’m making for Christmas morning!

Holiday French Toast

Ingredients

2 eggs
1/4 c heavy cream
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
5 slices bread
1/4 can cherry pie filling
Powdered sugar

Whisk together the eggs, cream, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Heat a heavy-bottom pan over medium heat and spray with cooking spray.  Soak each slice of bread in the egg mixture, then place in the pan.  Cook on each side until golden-brown.  Heat the cherry pie filling in the microwave, and top each serving of French toast with it and a dusting of powdered sugar.  Enjoy with a mug of hot chocolate, your favorite coffee, or some orange juice.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holiday French Toast

  1. nancy says:

    Looks delicious!!
    Thinking of trying my pasta machine out and making some bagels but, I’ll probably be too tired to do it so might have to wait until the New Year.

Leave a Reply

