Buffalo Chicken Pizza


One of my favorite things about Wednesday nights, aside from the fact that they’re family nights, is that I have the time and energy usually to try new recipes.  Today I was struck by inspiration at work, thinking about my as-yet-unused pizza stone, just sitting in the oven, and I called Southern Honey to offer him a choice: paprika chicken or homemade pizza.

You can guess which he chose.  *grins*  Of course, this then meant I had to find a new recipe and make a shopping trip which I should really never do without first consulting the inside of my refrigerator and cabinets, but it ultimately worked out all right.  And the pizza, while a bit overly saucy this time, was really good.

Buffalo Chicken Pizza (from Mike Fuller over at Hubpages)

Ingredients

Approx 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, boiled and either shredded or cubed
4-5 Tbsp butter
2-3 Tbsp Franks hot sauce
Salt and pepper to taste
2/3-1 c ranch dressing
Wing sauce to your desired taste
Approx 1 c Colby jack and/or mozzarella cheese
Crumbled bacon
Chopped green onion

In a pan over medium heat, combine the shredded or cubed chicken, butter, hot sauce, salt and pepper, using amounts of hot sauce, salt, and pepper to your individual taste.  Heat and stir until the chicken is thoroughly coated.

Roll or press out your dough and preheat the oven to 425*.  If it’s a store-bought dough rather than homemade, bake for five minutes and remove from oven.

Combine the ranch dressing and wing sauce, starting with 2/3 cup of ranch and adding wing sauce to taste — you’ll ultimately want about a full cup of sauce, but not much more to avoid getting too saucy.

Spread the sauce over the pizza dough, then evenly cover with the chicken.  Sprinkle on the crumbled bacon and green onions, then layer on the cheese.  Bake for another few minutes, until cheese is melted and the crust is at your desired level of doneness.  I baked ours for about 7 minutes at this point.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Pizza and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buffalo Chicken Pizza

  1. nancy says:

    Yummy!! I usually just spread the Frank’s hot sauce on the pizza like you would pizza/spaghetti sauce then squirt some ranch dressing on top. This one is one of Chris’ favorites. Jacob’s is Cheeseburger and they both love beef and bacon or pepperoni and bacon. I love hawaiian or taco pizza and U. Rich is philly cheese or bbq chicken. Sometimes on Friday’s I’d make each our favorite.

    • Oooh, now I’m going to have to try a Philly cheesesteak pizza! Between this, that, and veggie pizza, I think I’d be set for life.

      I really wish Southern Honey liked bleu cheese dressing, because I much prefer it to ranch, but what can you do? We both enjoyed it, though; I think the wing sauce made the ranch un-ranchy enough that I could eat it.

Leave a Reply

