Paprika-Spiced Pork Chops


Wednesdays might be my favorite nights of the week because Southern Honey is home, giving me more leeway on what to make for dinner simply because I can get started before I put the Munchkin to bed at 8:30.  As a result, I scoped out my Pinterest board of noms, got an idea of what I wanted to make for dinner tonight, and had to restrain myself from running to the store for the ingredients for at least three other, completely incidental recipes.  Because Pinterest is evil temptation like that.  *grins*

One of my favorite things about this recipe was the fact that it gave me another opportunity to practice my pan-searing skills.  Which still need work.  It was also an education in how to adjust cooking times for different cuts of meat and thicknesses.  Not to mention how to keep the Munchkin from faceplanting the open and hot oven door.  *headdesk*

I didn’t make the spinach saute that the original recipe had instructions for because I used the same pan from stovetop to oven for the pork chops.  Next time I’ll transfer them to a different pan for the oven part of the cooking process.  And I’ll use bone-in chops, like the recipe calls for.   I do plan to make this again because everything had a good flavor.

Paprika-Spiced Pork Chops (from RealSimple)

Ingredients

1 Tbsp olive oil
4 bone-in pork chops
1 tsp paprika
Salt and pepper

For sauteed spinach:
4 scallions, sliced
1/4 c golden raisins
1 10-oz package spinach
1 Tbsp lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 400*.  Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.

Season the pork chops with the paprika, salt, and pepper.  When the olive oil is hot, sear off the chops on one side, cooking 2-3 minutes.  Flip and sear off the other side, another 2-3 minutes.

Transfer the chops to an oven-safe dish and place in the oven to finish cooking, approximately 10 minutes.

To finish this off with the originally called-for spinach, return the original pan to medium heat.  Add scallions and golden raisins, and cook them for 1-2 minutes.  Then add your desired amount of spinach and wilt.  Remove from heat and stir in lemon juice.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Pork, Vegetable Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paprika-Spiced Pork Chops

  1. nancy says:

    Spinach: leave out the raisins and lemon toss with a tablespoon or 2 ( or in my case 3 or so) balsamic vinegar and a good shot of course ground salt and you’re in there.

Leave a Reply

