Once-a-Month Cooking Planning


After struggling for several months to feed myself and wrangle the Munchkin after I get home from work, I’ve decided it’s time to try something new: once-a-month cooking.  Now, maybe I’m just absolutely nuts, but there’s no time like the present to find out for sure.

I’ve spent the last few days looking for crock pot recipes and other easily-prepped, frozen, and cooked meals.  I’ve read other blogs.  I’m working out my menus and translating all those recipes into massive shopping lists.  And this afternoon, I’m heading out for my first big trip to Sam’s to pack it all in.  Tomorrow’s the big prep day.

I have no idea if this is actually going to work, or if I even remotely know what I’m doing (I’m going with “no”), but I have to try something, because I can’t keep waiting to start cooking until the Munchkin goes to bed at 8:30.  Especially since he’ll be eating real food before too long and dinners will have to be ready in time for him to eat, too.

But if it does work out, I foresee us using part of our tax return to buy a chest freezer for the garage.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Learning to Cook, Once-a-Month Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Once-a-Month Cooking Planning

  1. A good web-site to look at is 30 day gourmet. I have made multiple recipes for myself and to share with new moms!
    http://www.30daygourmet.com/Default.aspx

Leave a Reply

