Once-a-Month-Cooking: March-April


Last month’s Once-a-Month-Cooking experiment was a qualified success.  I say “qualified” only because we had some recipe snafus, and I learned a great deal about just how many major meals I need each week.  Err, I mean, no, I don’t have another month’s worth of spaghetti sauce, Cincy-style chili, stir-fry veggies, and pot roast in the freezer…

This month I’m hoping to take care of the leftovers from last month, as well as trying out some new ones:

  • Crock pot teriyaki chicken from Ring Around the Rosies
  • Southwestern chili mac
  • Creamy Italian pasta
  • Chicken noodle soup

I also have to say that I probably won’t use the recipe for crock pot spaghetti sauce I used this time.  It makes way too much for what we can eat, and the recipe came out a bit too sweet and bland for my tastes.  Once I add some sauteed veggies, it gets better, but there’s a ton of spaghetti sauce sitting in my freezer that I’m just not that fond of.

I also learned that I need to have better quick-fix vegetable options on hand to make sure the Munchkin is getting his fill.  I’m still working on that one, but with the Farmer’s Markets opening soon, I foresee us having a lot to choose from.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Beef, Once-a-Month Cooking, Poultry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Once-a-Month-Cooking: March-April

  1. website says:

    I Am Going To have to come back again whenever my course load lets up – however I am getting your Feed so i can go through your site offline. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

