Birthday party menu


I’m not sure why I’m doing this, but I’m sitting here torturing myself by going through and planning out the menu for the Munchkin’s party next weekend.  Why is this torture?  Because I had my wisdom teeth taken out yesterday, so I can’t actually eat anything that requires more chewing than maybe Spaghettios.  Yet here I sit looking through pictures of deliciousness and pondering a whole host of dishes I can’t do anything more than drool over at the moment.  😛

The party is going to kick off at one in the afternoon at a local park, so I wanted to keep things summery but have enough to be a proper lunch since I know some people are traveling a decent distance.  Plus it all needs to work in an outdoor setting (unless, of course, it rains, in which case we’ll relocate to our house).  It’s a Fraggle Rock themed event, since that’s the Munchkin’s favorite show, judging by all the dancing he does to the theme song, but that doesn’t lend itself much to foods unless you really like radishes and asparagus, so I’m allowing myself a lot of leeway there.  😀

Here’s how the menu is shaping up so far:

  • Shredded pork barbecue
  • Pasta salad (tri-color rotini with cucumber, green pepper, tomatoes, Italian dressing, and grated Parmesan cheese)
  • Poppy lime fruit
  • Veggie tray
  • Coleslaw (if I can find a no-mayo dressing)
  • Deviled eggs  (hooray, Mom!)
  • Strawberry lemonade cake

What I like most about the menu is that a lot of it can be prepared ahead of time, and a great deal of it I’ve made before.  Ordinarily I would use a situation like this to try out a load of new recipes, but there are too many variables with having to get everything to the park and ready to eat on time.  So I’m sticking with expending my energy on the cake and its decorations — it will be my first foray into the world of gum paste decorations and using syrup to help flavor a cake.

My grocery list:

  • Barbecue sauce
  • Green pepper (stoplight peppers if I can find them on sale)
  • Cucumber (2)
  • Grape or cherry tomatoes
  • Lime
  • In-season/on sale fruits
  • Bagged coleslaw mix
  • Lemon
  • Self-rising flour
  • 8-in round cake pan (I have one, but I need one more)
  • Plates, forks, spoons, cups, tablecloths
About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Menu and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

