Gardening to Eat


I finally got around to doing something about the horrible landscaping along the front of our house this weekend.  Although I wanted to dig everything up and start from scratch with good soil instead of the rocky clay crap we have, that just wasn’t feasible.  (You can read that as “I was too lazy” and be totally correct, too.)

My original plan was to do nothing more than make it look pretty, but I got a bit… carried away yesterday at the high school FHA sale and then at the greenhouse.  I came home with a variety of herbs and plants: jalepenos, cilantro, oregano, parsley, spearmint, pineapple mint, basil, creeping rosemary, orange thyme, and lavender.  Which doesn’t include the flowers I bought (snapdragons, blue star, dianthus, and another one I cannot for the life of me remember).

In a month of so, there’s going to be some fun going on in my kitchen.  *grins*  Pineapple mojitos for everyone!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gardening to Eat

  1. nancy says:

    keep the mint to itself or in a container. Mint tends to take over an area. Hope you have fun with all the herbs.

Leave a Reply

