Black Beans with Cumin and Garlic


If anyone’s curious why there’s a sudden spate of new recipes this week, it’s in large part to the fact that I’m quarantined at home with pinkeye.  *sighs*  So food prep is interspersed with lots more hand-washing than normal, because nobody should look the way I do right now.  It ain’t pretty.

On the bright side, I am getting to try a few new things that I’d have trouble finding the time for otherwise, and I love that.  I was really pleased by the way these turned out, and even more pleased with how well they paired with the previous night’s leftover cilantro lime rice.

Black Beans with Cumin and Garlic (from Carol Anne over at Food.com)

Ingredients

2 16 oz cans black beans or 16 oz dried black beans
4 cloves garlic, minced
2  tsp cumin
3 Tbsp olive oil
1 c chicken broth
1 1/2 tsp salt
3 Tbsp chopped cilantro (optional)

I halved the recipe and used dried beans because that was what I had and I was mostly only making it for myself.

Soak dried beans in water overnight; drain the next morning.  Drain and rinse the beans if you’re using canned.  Toss them into the crock pot.

In a small pan over medium heat, heat the oil, then add the garlic and cumin.  Cook until fragrant.  Add them to the beans in the crock pot, then pour in the chicken broth and the salt.  Stir and cook on low for 6 hours (I started late, so I had them on high for about an hour and then turned them to low for another three).  Serve with fresh cilantro, if desired.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Starch Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

