Zucchini Fries


I kept seeing this recipe making the rounds on Pinterest, getting pinned over and over and over again, and finally I decided to give in and just make the stupid things already.  (Yep, I too succumb to peer pressure.)

However, to make myself feel better (and because I enjoy flying by the seat of my pants, plus I somehow never have all the ingredients I need), I opted to make take the pinned recipe as my inspiration and just wing it.  The result was pretty good, although I suspect the original is better due to the inclusion of cheese.  Everything is better with cheese.

Zucchini fries (inspired by King Arthur Flour’s Baked Zucchini Sticks)

Ingredients

One medium zucchini
1 c panko
1 Tbsp Italian seasoning
Crushed red pepper
Freshly cracked black pepper

Cut the zucchini in ninths, lengthwise, then cut into three-inch pieces.  Pop the zucchini in a collander, sprinkle with a tablespoon of salt, and let it drain for an hour.  This pulls all the excess moisture out of the zucchini.

Preheat the oven to 425*.  When the zucchini has prepped, rinse it and dry it thoroughly.

Here’s where I tried a little trick: We have a few divided plates for the Munchkin, one big compartment and two small ones.  So I combined the panko, Italian seasoning, red pepper, and black pepper in the big compartment and whisked an egg in one of the small ones.  Et voila, minimal distance between egg and breading!  It really kept me from making an absolute mess the way I usually do when I bread something.

Coat your zucchini in the egg and then toss it liberally in the panko mixture, then transfer them to a cookie sheet.

Bake for approximately 12 minutes, then flip and cook for another 12 minutes or so.  Really, you just want them nicely golden-brown.

These can be reheated (mine had to be; I caught a stomach bug, so while I got them baked last night, I didn’t get them eaten until today), popped back into the oven at 350* for seven or eight minutes to get them hot and then bumped back up to 425* for another three minutes or so to get them crisp.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Vegetable Sides and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

