Barbecue Chicken-Bacon Pizza


Some days I have to work hard to figure out what we’re going to have for dinner.  Other days, inspiration simply strikes out of the blue, and I roll with it.  Still other days, someone offhandedly mentions pizza on Twitter, and I become obsessed.  I give all credit for today’s inspiration to Miss Snarky Pants and her pizza-loving husband.

I knew I wanted to make a chicken pizza, but what sauce and cheese to go with it?  It was a conundrum, and for conundrum assistance, I turn to the ultimate vast font of information.  Not Google.  Not my mom.  Not even The Joy of Cooking.  Oh no, in situations like this, I turn the only place I could: Facebook.  It worked, too.  In no time, I had a suggestion that rocked Southern Honey’s socks — barbecue chicken pizza with sharp cheddar cheese, which became barbecue chicken pizza with bacon, red onion, and sharp cheddar and colby jack cheese.

And all of it thanks to the power of the internet.

Barbecue Chicken-Bacon Pizza

Ingredients

Your favorite pizza crust
1 Boneless skinless chicken breast, browned
1/2 c shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1/2 c shredded colby jack cheese
1/4 red onion, chopped and sauteed
1/3 pound bacon, chopped

Sauce: 3 parts barbecue sauce to 1 part pizza sauce  (I used two parts of a honey barbecue sauce, one part of a chipotle sauce, and one part pizza sauce)

Preheat the oven to the proper temperature for your pizza crust.

Chop the bacon and cook it to your desired level of doneness, then saute the red onions in the bacon grease if you want for additional yumminess.  I then added some olive oil to the pan and browned my chicken.  Shred or cube the chicken.

Roll out the pizza crust.  Since I used my pizza stone, I threw down some corn meal to keep it from sticking first.  Then spread on your sauce.  Sprinkle with onions, bacon, and chicken, then cover completely with cheese.  Bake as directed, then slice and enjoy!

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Pizza, Poultry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

