Twice-a-Month Cooking


This is my latest play on once-a-month cooking.  Call it twice-a-month cooking, if you will.  I realized that trying to do everything at once, all in one day so my mom can babysit the Munchkin, is too much for me.  Plus I had way more leftovers than I had planned last time, so this time around I can take that into account when I plan my next two weeks.

The prep

I went with a couple of old favorites, two or three “cheat nights” where I use leftovers or breakfast, and a smattering of fun new recipes.  One of which I went ahead and test-drove tonight for dinner since I was running around like crazy.  I think those roasted vegetable and black bean tacos or burritos will be making a consistent appearance in the menu rotation after this.

I also included a couple of meals with alternative proteins, primarily black beans and eggs.  Meats of pretty much all varieties have gone up quite a bit in price, so I’m trying to find ways to bring our costs down without defaulting to peanut butter and jelly every night.  Particularly since the cost of that has gone up, too.

Add into that working around Southern Honey’s … simpler tastes so I’m not making two or three separate meals in a night (I do leave some leeway for toddler pickiness on the Munchkin’s part), and I’m just glad to have everything taken care of.

So, my menu for the next two weeks:

Sunday – Italian sausages with warm potato salad
Monday – Dragon noodles
Tuesday – Creamy taco mac
Wednesday – Honey spiced glazed chicken
Thursday – Pork chops in Italian dressing
Friday – Roasted veggie and sweet potato burritos
Saturday – Leftovers

Sunday – Out of town
Monday – Island chicken
Tuesday – Black beans with cumin and garlic; cilantro lime rice
Wednesday – Barbacoa
Thursday – Meatloaf
Friday – Breakfast burritos
Saturday – Leftovers

I should definitely have barbacoa left over for a meal in the next two weeks.  With everything else, we’ll see.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Once-a-Month Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment