Tasty Lunch Reviews


I’ve been gone for work a few days this week, and I have to say that I have had some seriously fantastic lunches while on the road.  Like, possibly the best sandwiches I’ve ever eaten in my entire life good.

Where did I eat, you ask?  Two tiny sandwich shops near the office I was working in: Alley Cat Cafe and Nonnie’s Kitchen.

At Alley Cat Cafe, I tried their special of the day, a turkey sandwich with apple, brie, chutney, and spinach, toasted on a panini press.  Pair that with a bowl of chicken tortilla soup, and there was one very happy Southern Sugar at the lunch table that day.  As a bonus, the ladies who run the cafe are absolutely lovely.

The day before, at Nonnie’s Kitchen, it was turkey, Gruyere, bacon, lettuce, tomato, and this incredible cranberry mustard.  I would love to know how they made that, because it was an excellent, slightly sweet complement to the bite of the cheese and the saltiness of the bacon.  Oh, and did I mention the fried biscuit with apple butter and the potato salad?  Oh my gosh, it was amazing!

I wish I had pictures of the restaurants and the food.  Especially the food.  Because I honestly haven’t had anything that delicious and charming in entirely too long.

About SouthernSugar

A Southern girl who's used to small town life, I found myself moving to Washington, DC, in 2008 for a new job, and living there was an eye-o
This entry was posted in Restaurants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

